top of page
  • Writer's pictureNia Mazariegos

What Thanksgiving Means to Me...

Updated: Nov 7, 2021

For me, Thanksgiving represents family and love. My family always hosts. Ever since I can remember, that last Thursday of November meant happiness. It was a week of planning and organizing. In my case, I have a small family, blood-wise. Through the years, my parent's friends have become my family, the people I love and look up to. This day is about being thankful, and the thing I am most thankful for is the people I have been raised around. That day when we all get together and celebrate, share happy memories, and create new ones.


I would wake up to the smell of turkey; my whole house was filled with decorations and food. It was the day that everyone looked forward to. The preparations started weeks in advance, invitations being sent out, preparing the house, and most importantly getting to do it all as a family. Every year I get to help my mom out with the desserts. We make pumpkin, apple, and pecan pie. The menu has been solidified, but as people are joining the family, new additions are welcome as long as they go with the theme.


Around 40 people come together, most of them have raised me but not necessarily been my biological family. It is a day when I get to see everyone and share how great they are. There is a mix of awesome people who made me who I am. Thanksgiving is a day I look forward to all year long. After Halloween, it is my main focus. Even though it is not a typical holiday for Honduras, my family has made it a tradition to celebrate it and it will always hold a special place in my heart. It represents friends turning into a family. It is a day full of celebration and love.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page