top of page
  • Daniela Villalobos

Eagles Thanking Their Nest



As we are getting closer to Thanksgiving, one of the most special times of the year, we get the opportunity to celebrate gratitude. November is what kicks off the most-awaited holiday season greeting, laughs in every corner with cozy blankets and a high festive spirit. There are thousands of things people can be thankful for at these times, Thanksgiving is all about reflecting on our lives and being grateful for all that we have and the people that form part of our lives.. In the end, these are the things that make a person who they are. Throughout many are currently facing difficult situations because of the pandemic, we have had time to reflect and understand the impact AST has made in our lives, and since it’s the month to say thank you, what better time to thank AST than now! AST can be something different for every single one of our Eagles, it can be a place to study, socialize, work, put people’s knowledge to test or just a place to eat those delicious crunchy tacos that the cafeteria makes.


AST has done a lot of things for each and every one of its Eagle, there is so much pride in forming part of this enormous, alluring community in the American School. To celebrate Thanksgiving, a survey was sent to alumni, teachers, and students asking them what they are thankful for in AST.

It was amazing seeing all the lives that AST has touched and all the heartfelt emotions and experiences people shared.

An overwhelming amount of responses revealed Eagles were grateful for the various opportunities AST has given them. Many people mentioned they were thankful to the school’s use of the IB program, college opportunities and learning developments. Others talked about different trips or community services they were able to be part of. Lastly people mentioned how AST helped them find a passion or something they really liked doing. One memorable response would be “AST has helped me find the way I learn best. From helping me find my interests to helping me overcome my public speaking fear...I am truly thankful for being a part of this community...and there are many more big opportunities I know AST will grant me in the next four years.”


Other people talked about how thankful they were that AST has developed such a welcoming environment for all our Eagles, providing them with a second home. A memorable response would be “I am in debt with AST. They happily welcomed me into their big family. I am thankful for our loving teachers and wonderful classmates.” There was another heartwarming reply from a second-grader that said, “I am thankful very MUCH for this school. There are good teachers and good friends! Thank you so much AST!”

Another aspect which was often highlighted was how AST has allowed people to form astounding relationships with one another. Respondents talked about how they found life-long friendships, mentors, and plenty more memorable people through AST.

One response related to this would be “AST is a second family for me. They have been with me in good times and bad times giving me the trust of being part of a GREAT INSTITUTION. For my job, for the trust they have in me, for being part of the education of my children, and as an alumni I am so proud of being an Eagle.”

Lastly, people talked about the memories that AST had given them and how thankful they were to have them. Eagles talked about memories from their senior year, when students surprised them with a cake on their birthday, as well as that one unforgettable AASCA or school trip they had the opportunity to attend. They talked about the innumerable laughs, hugs, wins, and bonding they had in AST. One incredible response would be “I'm thankful for the assistance that is given to me whenever I need it. I am also thankful for the kind and caring people that teach and learn at AST. But, of everything, I am most thankful for the friends and memories that I've made at AST.”


To finalize, it’s amazing to see all the people reflecting and talking about all the amazing this that AST has done for them. Remembering the good things makes this time even more special, so in the end it’s time to thank AST for playing such a big role in our lives. Thanksgiving serves as a reminder to us that the holidays aren’t about receiving but about giving. It inspires us to say ‘thank you’ which is something that should be done everyday. Let’s start appreciating our surroundings and everything we have more! On behalf of The Eagle Chronicles, Happy Thanksgiving to all!

82 views1 comment
bottom of page