top of page
  • Isabella Arguello

Nourishing the Future

Updated: Oct 6, 2020



Personally, I’ve always carried a certain thirst for knowledge. That desire to know more about any topic that presents itself. To look into that deeper meaning that, for the most part, is always lurking inside the context. I have to admit that numbers might not be and may never be my forte, but when it comes to any topic surrounding human life, experiences, reasoning, and way of living, my mind can’t help but submerge itself inside the topic. Learning about people, may it be from the past or the present, ranging from any topic, will forever catch my interest. This vast and direct passion towards gaining knowledge is the exact reason for why I, as a student, have always been impacted by the power of teaching.


Teaching is what nurtures humanity, gives it its power, passion, and growth to turn our surroundings into something better every day.

Teaching is not only an occupation to instruct a given topic of study: it’s a way to use that same topic, twist it and turn it, until it's presented in a different method to ensure that the information will not be lost in the students’ minds, souls, and hearts. It’s really a profound way to directly communicate with the leaders of the future. Teachers hold the immense power and gift of turning each and every student into the best version of themselves. They have the power to ample their knowledge as well as their creativity, to influence their thoughts and their way of thinking, and to help create healthy, insightful, and thoughtful human beings. Teachers show students that learning is not only filled with grades, quizzes, tests, and projects, but by comprehending that what we learn both inside and outside of class and using that same knowledge to take care of the world around us. I know I’m just a student, so who am I to talk about the power of teaching, if I don’t have any experience in it? I know students may not always reflect their best selves or their best reasoning, but I know for a fact that everyone holds a purpose in life. So why not use that power, that gift, to find out the best way possible to nurture students, catch their interest, fulfill their expectations, and prepare them for whatever their purpose shall be?

As a student myself, I know that when reaching a certain grade, a teacher sometimes tends to have all of these expectations for their students. Because they have reached a higher grade, they should carry certain skills and know how to properly complete certain processes. But what if the student is unable to perform the skills or complete the task? This opens up one of the most common challenges that teachers face: given the fact that every human being inside this Earth is in need of different strategies, ways to learn, each with their distinctive way of thought and processing. Maybe this student is simply having a hard time for any personal or academic reason that they can’t seem to express. It is only logical that as the grade level rises, students have the need to work through higher expectations, and take in a bigger workload. As such, when students are given the opportunity by teachers to take in that “basic” or “obvious” knowledge in an innovative and different way, from the one that was taught before, changes your perspective. What once was inexplicable, now is understood. It’s not only the what, but also the why and how that finally fits in together. It takes willingness to learn and passion to teach to shape our minds and for that, thank you educators.

I am currently in eleventh grade, and how is it that up to now, I still manage to remember the teachers that had some kind of influence in me? It’s because these were the teachers that subconsciously and slowly led me to be who I am today. In third grade, my tremendous devotion towards reading and writing set about, spurred by the great teacher I had that year. From that point on, every single year English class, I have tried to exceed my own expectations by reflecting my endearment towards writing onto my work and the love towards reading onto my thoughts and reflection. When I entered high school, more and more passions grew within me. My history teacher showed such passion and fondness over the subject that it simply grew onto me. His unique ways of teaching only drew the attention and the curiosity of the class. Because of that, my love towards history has grown, as well as trying to share that joy by learning anything that comes from it. In ninth grade, my fear over science and its complexity came to an end. My teacher placed onto all of us a very stern but also compelling sort of teaching. I was worried of not being able to deliver but was amused by the content, the activities, and especially his way of teaching. It gave me a boost of academic confidence, a sense of independence, as well as knowledge. My perspective towards Spanish class forever changed in freshman year. Spanish used to bring no enjoyment for me till a certain teacher spiced it up. It taught me the importance of analysis, the skill to search into that deeper meaning, but most importantly, a new love towards Spanish literature. These little influences along the way did not only inspire me, but allowed me to apply more of these various subjects into my daily life.


All of these teachers and many more have granted me, from that very first day up to now, a new perspective, way of thinking, dreams and interests that have only grown and set me up for a better future. My thirst for knowledge will only allow me to create a better life for myself. So I leave you with one thought, “If only teachers like the teachers at AST, absorbed in their minds the potential they have to inspire, guide, and influence students to boost up, not only their knowledge, but their confidence, how would education worldwide change for the better?”


106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page