top of page
  • Antonio Tavel

School Announces New Hybrid Method - What Does AST Think?

Updated: Nov 7, 2021

As we slowly shift back to normality, school administration has recently announced that students who partake in the hybrid method of schooling will begin taking on a full day of classes beginning November first. This is contrary to the half-day hybrid cycle students who are involved in hybrid currently take. Anabella Garcia, an eighth grader who takes part in the hybrid modality, was asked about her thoughts on this matter.


Antonio: How does our current method of schooling compare to what schooling was pre-pandemic?


Anabella: It’s definitely different, before you could socialize more, and there were more people in your classroom. Now, there’s mostly students connected to Zoom, and sometimes it’s a little more difficult because of technical issues, but I definitely think we’re improving.


Antonio: What are your thoughts on our current learning situation?


Anabella: I am really enjoying the hybrid modality, I really like it. I feel like we can get more personal assistance with the teacher, and we’re slowly shifting more towards pre-pandemic time. You can also see that I have been getting better grades in hybrid than I did in virtual.


Antonio: Do you think we will ever be able to achieve full normality again? Why/why not?


Anabella: I think eventually we will, but not right now. Maybe like in five years. I also think that now you can see how unsafe and dirty the world was before. I think that eventually, we will be able to return to full normality, but for now, it’s normal enough to make us feel very comfortable and it’s very safe.


Antonio: Do you think it is easier to learn in the classroom or virtually?


Anabella: I, personally, like the classroom better, because I feel like it’s easier to understand and I have had a wider attention span. The teachers are also constantly checking up on you. If you have a problem, they can help you with it in more detail than they can over ZOOM. I do know, however, that some of my classmates feel more comfortable on Zoom.


Antonio: As we enter full days of hybrid schooling again, as a hybrid student, how do you feel?


Anabella: I am very excited, a little confused, however, on how the lunch situation is going to work, but I know that the school is taking enough biosecurity measures to keep us all safe (…) I’m looking forward to it.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page